The ‘Ditmar’ Awards

Hot on the heels of the recently rocking Aurealis Awards (remember, full details in latter February…), the National SF convention, Thylacon, has announced nominations for the ‘Ditmar’ awards is open.

Details and full rules for these awards are available at the Thylacon website.

In a nutshell, you (and yes, I’m directing this at any blog readers out there, not maintaining a cathartic journal entry for this one) can email the Thylacon crew with nominations, and the members/attendees of the convention vote on the categories.

Please consider:

Best Professional Collected Work –

Shadowed Realms magazine (ed. Angela Challis & Shane Jiraiya Cummings)


Best Professional Short Story –

“Sobek’s Tears” by Shane Jiraiya Cummings, published in Aurealis #33/34/35.

(all the other stuff of mine published in 2004 was either flash or too odd to mention for consideration).

Feel free to email these nominations in, or any ultra cool stories that have appeared in Shadowed Realms issue one or two by Australian authors. The nomination process is outlined below:

Please email your nominations to with the word

‘Ditmar’ in the subject heading. You can also post nominations to the

following address: Ditmar, 16 Maweena Pl, Kingston, TAS 7050

You do not need to be a member of the 2005 Natcon to nominate works.

Discretion is reserved for accepting nominations. If there are

insufficient nominations, a category may not appear.

Nominations will be counted if sent by 1 March.

Voting will open on 7 March 2005. Only members (including supporting

members) of Thylacon 2005 will be eligible to vote. Consult for further information.